Exceeding Expectations

It’s a good feeling when we can meet expectations, but it’s so much better when you can exceed them. I went to a buffet dinner about a week ago and one particualr dish had run out and so I inquired, hoping that more was coming. Being a buffet restaurant I expected them to have more coming, because there was still quite a few people around. So they assured me that more was coming soon. What I did not expect was that the girl I had asked would deliver the dish to my table, because normally in these buffet restaurants, you would go up to the food bar and help yourself. It totally exceeded my expectation and my image of the norm at a buffet restaurant.

People build up stereotypes of many things, girls like pink, boys like blue, girls like flowers, boys like cars, supermodels are ignorant, geeks are physically less attractive, nightclubs are full of drug addicts and drunks. Christians are usually stereotyped as self-righteous and legalistic.

Sure some of these may be true, but as a Christian I am not proud to be seen as someone that is self-righteous and legalistic. I have heard of many testimonies where Christians have exceeded expectations – including from my own church. Where members were friendly especially to the newcomers, ushers went the extra mile to help someone in need and many others. Let us always strive to do our best for God and exceed human expectations, after all our God (who is in us) is not human.

Leave a Reply

