Igniting my code

I have looked a while back for a good PHP framework, but all of them just seemed to over complicate things. So in the end I decided to just build my websites without the use of a framework. Recently I came across Code Igniter (CI) an open source PHP framework and what I like about it is that it is small footprint (< 2MB including a fairly extensive user-guide), it doesn’t force you to learn any new syntax and it uses the MVC design pattern. You could think of CI as the PHP version of Ruby on Rails.

Instead of having to learn a new style of doing things (new language or syntax), CI allows me to code my websites/applications like I would normally with the added feature that many of the libraries/helper functions are already available. It also helps me write neater code by using the MVC structure.

At the moment I am using CI for the next revision of the Hope Mission Centre (HMC) website, and I’m sure I will be using it for many others as well. I started doing the HMC website without the use of a framework, surprisingly the switch was not very hard at all.

CI is highly recommended for those who need to use PHP to create a web application, and being open source it’s FREE!

Leave a Reply

