You Are Not Alone

I haven’t been able to get much help in the area of IT ministry, sometimes when I think about it, it was probably partly my own fault. Here are some of the reasons why:

  • I was the only one able to commit who had a good knowledge of IT (after all I did finish a computer engineering degree)
  • I had the most experience in terms of working on past IT projects for church.
  • I did not take the time to actively seek out new recruits.
  • Part of me wanted to do it all because I did not want to have to rely on others to do a good job.
  • Being able to trust others with confidential information, e.g., passwords.

So as you can see, some reasons are due to lack of resources, but some others were simply due too my own pride. However I’m glad that I now how a few people willing to help. I am learning to focus not on what I want, but rather what’s best for the ministry. With so many tasks to do, I could not possibly do it all on my own and this is a good example of how delegation is very important trait of leadership.

Ever since the beginning of time, God already knew that it wasn’t good for man to be alone, which is why the woman was created. So I believe we were not meant to be alone, but rather I believe we were wired to have relationships and to work together. A team is not just made up of one person doing all the work, but it involves a collaboration of every member doing their part. By working together not only does it relieve the burden for the individual, but it also increases the effectiveness of your work.

This principle can be applied to every area of your life, when you’re facing problems and difficulties, making a decision or whatever it is, learn to swallow your pride and don’t struggle on your own.

Leave a Reply

